Father’s Day?

And then there is Father’s Day.  Which has become just another reason for me to stand in the Hallmark store and cry.  Ridiculous.  My dad passed 2 years and 2 months ago.  Yesterday.  He was my hero, my rock, my back, always.  I miss him with a pain like a toothache.  Father’s Day just reminds me of how much.  So tomorrow, when my husband goes to see his dad I will sit at my Father’s grave and tell him about all the crap that has happened in the few weeks since I have been there.  Cathartic, but woeful, believe me.

And this morning we are going to see our son and his daughter, because the bitch that bore his child is taking her out of town for Father’s Day.  But, for our Joe, everyday is Father’s Day and he has raised Ava since her mother ran off when she was 5 1/2 months old, so he’s had a lot of days to hold her hand and love her, which he does….

And then my husband, who is not my Father.  Good man, simple man, selfish man, predictable man.   Father to my three babies, grandfather to my four grandchildren…trying hard to be the man everyone needs him to be when in reality he wishes he was on the race track with his Nova…..

Leave a Reply

