retirement………I could get used to this

So, I retired from public educaiton last week.  Thursday was my last day and it was a hullabaloo week of parties, tears, songs and hugs.  Awesome.  Then Friday I woke up and lay in bed wondering how i wanted to spend my day.  That didnt last long, as I had to spend 5 hours on the road on a variety of errands, but it was still a kick, because I had the time to do it, didnt have to fit it in after work. 

The weekend brought grandson’s birthday and the Sunday clean up, so you know, it was a weekend, what can I say.  Today tho, was MONDAY.  Monday, the day teachers and students alike, dread.  The beginning of the long haul. No matter whether you love or detest your teaching position, Monday sucks. Period.   I woke up an hour and a half later than I have woke up for the past 23 years.  Padded down to the kitchen and made coffee.  Stared out the door, resisting the impulse to open it and yell “yoo hoo, Im home!!!”

Then i had to get ready to go to training for my new job.  That’s right.  A new job.  You retire at 55, you need to get a new job.  Driving into the city at 9:15 ( HA!  Second period is about to start and I am cruizing down 11th. street with a cafe mocha and “call me Maybe’ on the radio) I couldnt help but smile.  Retired…..who knew it could be this fun.

One thought on “retirement………I could get used to this

  1. Retirement and Good Living is a great new retirement site for information on finance, health, retirement locations, volunteering, par time jobs and much more at retirementandgoodliving.com

Leave a Reply

